Comm130 – P1 Flier

8-1/2" x 11" Flier in grayscale created using Adobe InDesign software
[8-1/2″ x 11″ Flier in grayscale created using Adobe InDesign software.]
    1. Description: This flier was an assignment for my visual communications course. The following information was provided: your employer asks you to create a news flier in InDesign. She gives you the information, a logo, and one image to use. She asks you to create a new layout that will be attractive and more inviting to read.
    2. Process: The flier was created using Adobe InDesign. The final flier was printed at Kinkos on 32 lb. paper. To begin the project I read the information provided by the client. I thought about what would attract the attention of a college student passing by the flier on a bulletin board. I felt that using unconventional shapes like circles and trapezoids was more appealing than squares and rectangles. I then looked at examples of fliers on Pinterest for inspiration and sketched some potential layouts. Using a contrasting typography and value, I emphasized “Leadership” in the title so the audience would know right away that this flier was about leadership, not graduation. The type used for the title is from the same family to create unity, but variety. I selected this image from the samples provided because it fit nicely across the page, and it wasn’t too busy. I kept the title and date-time-place close together for the viewer to get the most important information at a quick glance. There is repetition of twos in the design: two people, two bubbles, two letters in the company logo, two colors in the title and tagline. The image is a trapezoid shape to help the readers’ eyes move toward the circles. The body copy is aligned to the curve of the circles, and looks similar to the logo brand mark. White space is in the top right corner as well as the lower left corner. I focused my attention on contrast and alignment during the design process. The light gray background provided a container for the content of the flier and helped it feel concise and easy to read quickly. I sought feedback from two of my peers, listening to their suggestions and even incorporating a couple of them.
    3. Message: The audience can gain a competitive edge by attending a conference where Vouant Communication executives will be providing leadership skills training.
    4. Audience: The target audience of the flier is graduating college seniors.
    5. Top Thing Learned: I learned that the design should not fill all four corners of the layout.
    6. Title Font Name & Category: For the title I used variations of the sans serif type family, Avenir, including Heavy, Black, and Book.
    7. Copy Font Name & Category: For the body copy I used Minion Pro, an oldstyle typeface.
    8. Links:
  • Image – https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/JuliePeterson-Leadership-conference-business-rexburg-Idaho_7629-as-Smart-Object-1.jpg
  • Logo – https://130.commbyui.org/wp-content/uploads/2013/01/VouantLogo2.png
  • YouTube – http://youtu.be/ozb6fdUaQQo

Your comments are appreciated.

2 thoughts on “Comm130 – P1 Flier

  1. Sheila, I really like your flier design. I really love the dynamics, and love that it starts with the image shape. It leads my eye right to the information, which is perfect. I also really like the way you did the title. The black “graduate” and the white “leadership” both show an importance, but in a different way. Great Job! I am excited to see the rest of your work for this class.
    If you have a minute, take a look at my flier design. https://mirandadoppcomm130.wordpress.com/2015/01/25/project-1-flier/

    Like

  2. Hello Sheila,

    I am very impressed with your flier! I think your design is very professional and cutting-edge. The trapezoid shape of the image is very striking and the circles add a nice touch. The emphasis you placed on specific words through color and font weight is very impressive as well.

    If you get a chance, please check out my flier project and let me know what you think:

    https://nickolashujtyn.wordpress.com/category/design/

    Thanks,

    Nickolas Hujtyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

