P3 Photodesign

P3SheilaWilkerson

  1. Description: I created a full-bleed, 8.5 by 11, photodesign project that includes an original, quality image, a consistent color scheme based from that image, with some text, and a few design elements.
  2. Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles): I used Photoshop CC to create a design for an image I took with a Canon Rebel DSLR camera. I set up the photo shoot outdoors at about 9 o’clock in the morning. I used a yellow-monochromatic color scheme to keep the design clean and elegant. The yellow hues were selected from the photo. I varied the typography to create contrast and interest.
  3. Message: The message is a common phrase which basically means make the most out of whatever life throws at you.
  4. Audience: The audience is youth and up.
  5. Top Thing Learned: I learned that good lighting is important to get a good shot with shadows that create depth.
  6. Color scheme and color names: The colors in this design are all yellow-monochromatic: pale yellow, medium yellow, and bright yellow along with black and white.
  7. Title Font Name & Category: The title font is a san serif called Neutra Display in Medium and also a script called Euphoria.
  8. Copy Font Name & Category: The copy font is also Neutra Display, a sans serif.

IMG_6847I took this photo outside in my backyard at about 9 a.m.

 

 

5 thoughts on “P3 Photodesign

  1. Good job, Sheila. What a great image to start with. I thought that Nisha’s design also incorporated a good photograph as a starting point – you might check it out on her blog: https://nishamwilliams.wordpress.com/

    I know you know, but the lighting is great in your picture. I’m curious how you got the black background – what great contrast! I also like the fonts you used and how you worked the lemons into your color swatches. You’ve got a good balance, too, with the text, the pitcher, cup, and the other lemons. It’s all very clean and simple (in a good way) – well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sheila. This is such an eye-catching image. I really liked the acid yellow color it is very nice, besides the typography is very appealing, and communicates clearly the message. The color are very contrasting and the image looks so fresh.
    Great job.

    Like

  3. I love this piece, it looks like something you would see in a restaurant like zupas. The lighting looks great and the energy from the flow of text and color really make this a dynamic piece. I’m going to guess that you like to do photography because of how well the entire scene is laid out. I’m also going to guess that you really like lemons ;-).

    If you get a spare minute I would really appreciate it if you could check out my blog and let me know what you think!
    https://ethanevansdesign.wordpress.com/portfolio/

    Like

  4. Hi Sheila! I didn’t realize you were taking COMM 130 too! I wish you were in my section, but at least I can still see your work. 🙂 I love this design you made! It is beautiful. I want to hang it in my house somewhere. I guess that Typography class is really paying off in this class too, huh. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

