B250 Wk7 Reflection

This week’s focus for my web business class has been Google Adwords. Before taking this course, I had no idea how one could go about advertising their website. Of course I’ve seen the little ‘ad’ icon at the top of my search results, but hadn’t really given it much thought. After this week, I’m aware that there is a lot to know about promoting a web business.

There’s a quality score which is based on relevancy and content. Much like an academic grade, it seems to take a lot more effort to recover from a weak score than start with a good one.

Since this is such new territory for me, I’m setting my daily budget low. I don’t want to lose my shoes while learn how to tread the waters of online marketing. I’m also realizing that I don’t necessarily want to have my website promoted too well. That might lead to customers who will buy and then I need more inventory and then… I’m a middle-aged mom with a family and I still have 15 credits to complete before graduation.

Without newspapers and with streaming video, business have to promote in different ways than 20 or 30 years ago. I’m glad I’m not a marketing major.

Leave a Reply

